A Wear and Carry Permit (WCHP) is a license that allows people to carry firearms on their person. It is also known as a CCW, concealed carry, or concealed handgun permit.
In Maryland, citizens are required to meet training and fingerprinting requirements before being approved for a WCHP. The suspension of the “good and substantial reason” standard does not impact that requirement.
The qualifications for a Wear and Carry Permit are governed by state law. Applicants must meet the requirements of a state-issued license, which includes obtaining an approved training course, as well as demonstrating a good and substantial reason for wanting to carry a handgun. Van Nuys Shooting
For example, if you are seeking a permit for personal protection, the required documentation should include evidence of threats or robberies against you, along with police reports or notarized statements from witnesses. Owners and employees of businesses should submit business records, financial statements and a letter from the employer on company letterhead explaining why the employee needs to carry a handgun as part of their job.
Maryland state law requires all applicants for Wear and Carry Permits to undergo a 16-hour training course offered by an approved Qualified Handgun Instructor. This includes instruction on state firearm laws, home firearm safety, handgun mechanisms, and operation, and a component that requires the applicant to demonstrate gun safety and proficiency with a minimum score of 70% accuracy.
Before you may legally wear and carry a regulated firearm, you must possess and maintain on your person the MSP-issued Handgun Wear and Carry Permit.
Unless exempt, applicants must successfully complete firearms training prior to submitting their application, or within 2 years from the date they are issued the permit.
New York state requires all conceal carry permit holders to complete 16 hours of in-person live classroom instruction and two hours of live fire. The training includes instruction on state firearm law, home firearm safety, basic handgun mechanisms and operation, and a component that requires you to demonstrate gun safety and proficiency with a minimum score of 70% accuracy.
The four-hour New York State Initial Handgun Safety Course can satisfy some of the requirements, but you’ll need to take our full 18-hour class to receive a certificate in most counties. Our 2-4 day classes are also available for those who need the training quickly. You can pre-register and pay online for these courses.
Depending on the jurisdiction, applicants can expect to pay anywhere from $10 to $56 in fees. This includes fingerprinting and background checks.
Applicants must also take an approved pistol training course before renewal. This training can be completed up to one year prior to the application date.
Residents apply for their license via the Maryland State Police Licensing Division Portal, uploading a digital passport-style photo, certificate of training or exemption, and “Live Scan” fingerprint receipt. These documents can be uploaded in PDF, JPG, PNG, DOC, and DOCX formats.
The application fee is also paid electronically at the time of submission in the Licensing Portal. Changing address information on a Wear and Carry Permit must be reported in writing to the Permits and Licensing Division within 30 days of a change.
Every two years, Maryland Wear and Carry Permit holders are required to renew their permits. The process is streamlined and can be done online via the MSP Licensing Portal. You must submit an application fee of $50, two color passport-quality photos no older than 30 days, and your firearms training certificate.
Renewals must be completed no more than 90 days after the expiration date on your Wear and Carry Permit. In some cases, such as if you are a security guard, private detective, armored car guard, or special police officer, the renewal can be processed in your local Sheriff’s office.
The renewal process involves eight hours of training from an approved handgun instructor. This includes a review of state firearm law, home firearm safety, handgun mechanisms and operation, and a component that requires shooting at least 25 rounds from no further than 15 yards and scoring a minimum of 70% accuracy.
Applicants may also be exempt from the training requirement if they are a veteran, disabled, or retired law enforcement officer. If you are an active, former, or retired law enforcement officer, you must provide documentation verifying your status.