What is a DWI Court?
If you have been arrested and charged with a DWI in Missouri, there are some options that may help you avoid incarceration. DWI court is a program that allows you to get treatment for your alcohol or drug use disorder.
If you are facing a DWI, it’s important to contact an experienced Missouri DUI attorney as soon as possible. They will analyze your case and driving record to determine if DWI court in Missouri is right for you.
What is a DWI?
A DWI is an offense that involves driving while intoxicated or impaired by alcohol or drugs. This offense is a serious charge that can put your life on hold and leave you with a criminal record.
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration says that 30 people die in drunk-driving accidents every day. This is why it’s important to know your rights and what to do when you’re stopped by a police officer for a DWI.
Depending on your age, you may face a DWI charge for operating a vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. In Missouri, you can also be charged for a DUID, which stands for “driving under the influence of drugs”.
If you’re arrested for a DWI in Missouri, contact the attorneys at The Missouri DWI & Criminal Law Center right away. Our team of experienced lawyers will work to fight for your freedom and defend you from the charges against you.
What are the penalties for a DWI?
A DWI in Missouri is a criminal charge that can result in jail time, fines, license suspension or revocation, probation, community service, and mandatory enrollment in alcohol school. The penalties are based on the severity of the charges.
A first offense DWI results in a minimum of 90 days of license suspension, which can be shortened to 30 days with the installation of an ignition interlock device. A judge can also suspend the sentence if you have no prior alcohol-related traffic offenses.
Second DWIs are usually a class A misdemeanor. However, if you have a first DWI and a subsequent one within 5 years, the charge will be classified as a “persistent offender” offense, which means it is a class D felony.
In addition, drivers of commercial motor vehicles have a heightened standard with which to comply when they drink and drive. If you refuse to take a breath test when pulled over for driving while intoxicated, you can be disqualified from using your CDL for one year.
What are the benefits of a DWI court?
DWI courts are specialized, post-conviction programs that focus on changing a defendant’s behavior due to alcohol dependency and/or severe abuse. They are typically implemented by a unified court system, with a staff of judges, treatment practitioners, probation officers, and other professionals.
A centralized approach to supervision and treatment ensures that offenders are monitored closely to avoid re-offense and to deter the use of drugs or alcohol. Individualized sanctions are also used to address behavior issues as they arise.
These individualized treatment and supervision models have been shown to be effective in reducing recidivism, saving money, and helping the community become safer. However, these results must be backed by a credible evaluation (see NADCP guiding principle 9).
The best way to evaluate a DWI court is to study its data over a long period of time. This will allow a DWI court to prove its effectiveness, which can then be used to convince the community of the program’s efficacy.
How do I know if I’m eligible for a DWI court?
If you have been charged with a DWI in Missouri, it’s important to know whether or not you qualify for a DWI court. A DWI is a criminal charge that involves proving beyond a reasonable doubt that you operated a motor vehicle while intoxicated.
In Missouri, a DWI is typically prosecuted as a Class B misdemeanor. This means that you will face up to 180 days in jail and a fine for a first offense.
The penalties for a second DWI are much more severe, and it’s important to talk to an experienced attorney about your case before you decide to plead guilty or take the matter to trial.
You also need to know that if you refuse to take a breath test or a blood alcohol content test, your driver’s license will be automatically revoked. Moreover, you will have to go through an administrative license hearing.